The Locus Awards, first started in 1971, are given out annually in several sci-fi, fantasy, and horror categories. The winners are determined by votes from the readers of Locus Magazine. This year, the awards ceremony was MCed by Maggie Tokuda-Hall, author of the YA SFF books The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea and Squad, among others.

Here are this year’s winners!

Fantasy Novel

Book cover of Babel, or the Necessity of Violence by R. F. Kuang

Babel, R.F. Kuang (Harper Voyager US; Harper Voyager UK)

Horror Novel

What Moves the Dead by T. Kingfisher book cover

What Moves the Dead, T. Kingfisher (Nightfire; Titan UK)

Runners up:

Saturnalia, Stephanie Feldman (Unnamed)

Just Like Home, Sarah Gailey (Tor; Hodder & Stoughton)

Road of Bones, Christopher Golden (St. Martin’s; Titan UK)

The Devil Takes You Home, Gabino Iglesias (Mulholland; Wildfire)

The Fervor, Alma Katsu (Putnam; Titan UK)

Gwendy’s Final Task, Stephen King & Richard Chizmar (Cemetery Dance; Hodder & Stoughton)

Echo, Thomas Olde Heuvelt (Nightfire; Hodder & Stoughton)

No Gods for Drowning, Hailey Piper (Agora)

The Pallbearers Club, Paul Tremblay (Morrow; Titan UK)

Sundial, Catriona Ward (Nightfire; Viper)

Other Locus Award Winners

Check out the full list of winners and runners up at Locus.

Find more news and stories of interest from the book world in Breaking in Books.


Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Flooring company Shaw moving Santa Fe Springs operation to Georgia, eliminating 291 jobs
Finnish Authorities Dismantle Notorious PIILOPUOTI Dark Web Drug Marketplace
WGA & Studio CEOs To Meet Again Friday; Guild Urges Members To Get Out On Picket Lines In Force
‘We’re not going to save the planet by bankrupting Britons’, says home secretary
Billie Eilish, Peter Gabriel, Bootsy Collins and Other ‘Artists for Action’ Raise Voices to End Gun Violence

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *